top of page
Writer's pictureShibaCode

Hayasawa Town, inspired by Sapporo

Updated: Nov 29, 2021


Sapporo TV Tower,Fall 2018

The sushi town Project starts when I first visited Hokkaido in 2016. Unlike other cities in Japan, Sapporo (Hokkaido's capital) is a new city. Settled-up by mainlander Japanese just a hundred years ago. thus, there're no hundreds-year-old shrines or castle. I suddenly notice that the city is super-clean. And most of the footpath is quite wider than those in other cities. The answer came when I revisited Sapporo in winter. All the city is covered with >1 meter-height snow. A snow-melting-car is running slowly on the footpath to make a pathway for people to walk. If they don't keep everything clean and well-organized, two-million people in this mega-city might face trouble when the snow came.


Impressed by this elaborate city. I try to recreate and capture the atmosphere of Sapporo into my small-fictional Hayasawa town. Many of the scenery is borrowed from towns across Hokkaido.


Shopping at night @Kita-Ku ,Sapporo

One of the essence that makes japan so attractive is a scenery-transformation between seasons. It would be nice to implement these variations in my city. Although this "season idea" adds tons of works to the project. I still hope that players will have fun exploring the city and enjoy different environments between seasons as much as I enjoy creating them.

Considering this blog as a personal note. I hope to write not just about the programming techniques. But also the inspiration, design thoughts. Anyone who came across is welcome to share their ideas. #ShibaCode #Hayasawa #Sapporo #SushitownProject

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page