top of page

About Character Design

Updated: Dec 4, 2020

One of my favorite games is Charumera(PS1) from Bits Laboratory. The game takes you back to the Shōwa period( 1926–1989), the same period as Always trilogy movies.

Charumera (チャルメラ) ©Bits Laboratory

The game is present in a heart-warming environment. Game art is presented in a water-color style. The game was released for PlayStation in 1999. Still, It's on the top list of my favorite games.


So I use the look and feel of Charumera as my inspiration for my game.


I can do some artwork myself. But coloring is not my favorite thing to do. Real watercolor on paper is time-consuming. Digital painting with a Wacom tablet is complicated. Since you draw on Wacom tablet and a result is happening on the screen. In the end, my setup for artwork creation is an iPad tablet plus an apple pencil. it's super-efficient and I can draw 10x faster.

iPad + Pencil + Procreate

Each character contains 5 to 10 expression. Drawing on an iPad makes the progress easier since you can copy&paste each expression for editing. These 2D characters will appear on a dialogue box, which will give the player a little more binding to the story. Since drawing on an iPad is so enjoyable I currently plan to draw at least 50 characters for this project. so let the counting begin.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page